Sticky honey chicken with ginger and sesame seeds

20140422-112258.jpg

I’m so glad that I finally got around to making this recipe again and that it’s finally up on the blog! This is one of the first things I learned to make on my own, back when Jé and I had just gotten together. I remember trying so hard to impress him (even though he’s really not much of a foodie), making stuffed bell peppers (another recipe that I don’t think is even on here!), pumpkin pie from scratch and then, this chicken. It felt like such a triumph. It was incredibly easy, actually, but something about it seemed complicated. Almost fancy even. It was pure instant gratification, and I made it on a regular basis for a long time, until one day, it just fell out of my rotation. And I haven’t made it since. And then the other day I randomly thought about it, and remembered how it was just as good as any take-out I ever ate in America and a million times better than what I can find in France, and just like that, sticky honey chicken was back!

20140422-112251.jpg

And better than ever, dare I say. Whereas back in the day I was cautious, sticking to every last detail of the recipe, today I am a true home cook and I kind just made things up as I went along, adding a step where I quick-fry the chicken coated in flour and adding a bit more spice and a lot more fresh, grated ginger. This chicken was awesome. Better than I remembered and way healthier and more satisfying than anything you’ll get at your local Asian place (aside from crab meat Rangoon or wantons, obviously).

20140422-112305.jpg

Sticky honey chicken with ginger and sesame seeds

Ingredients (serves 4-6, and is lovely with some rice pilaf [I added some leftover grilled zucchini to mine]):
6 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pièces
1/2 cup flour (approximate)
1 teaspoon salt
Pepper
A heavy pinch of red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup water
1 2 inch knob of ginger, grated
2 tablespoons of sesame seeds, toasted

Preheat your oven to about 400°. In a shallow baking dish (about 9×9), mix the honey, soy sauce, water, grated ginger and toasted sesame seeds. Set aside.

Heat 2 tablespoons of neutral oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Mix the flour and spices in a large, shallow baking dish. Lightly coat the pièces of chicken in the flour mixture and place them in the hot skillet, working in batches if necessary (and adding more oil between batches. Make sure you let it heat up before adding the next batch of chicken!). Cook for 1-2 minutes per side, until nice and golden (no need to cook the chicken through, you’ll finish it off in the oven). Once it’s browned, slide it into your baking dish full of honeyed goodness. Place in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until the sauce has reduced by about half (it should be thick and sticky). Serve with rice, steamed brocoli, whatever!

Leave a comment