Hazelnut honey mustard vinaigrette

Oh, vinaigrette! When I moved to France eight years ago, this was one of the first things I learned to “make,” and also one of the most rewarding. I’m not crazy for organic products, but I do take satisfaction in knowing what goes into what I eat. I almost always prefer making things from scratch, even if it means spending a little (or sometimes a lot!) more time in the kitchen. And while I do have a soft spot for creamy ranch dressing, I’ve learned to live without it and to prefer a simple, homemade vinaigrette. My go-to is the very recipe that I first learned here, a classic olive oil, red wine vinegar and mustard sauce. But my new favorite, which is better on so many levels, is this hazelnut honey mustard dressing.

20140112-212133.jpg

It’s just as easy to make (if you have a mason jar with a lid, all you do is pour and shake!), but the addition of hazelnut oil gives this sauce a distinct and nutty flavor that olive oil, which is fairly neutral, just can’t provide. Nice, strong mustard and just a hint of sweet honey makes this less of an overpoweringly sweet dressing, like the bottled ones I remember from home, and more of a subtle mix of sweet and spicy. I’ve eaten this on pretty much everything over the last few weeks, but one of my favorites was a simple quinoa salad with radishes, marinated fennel and leftover roasted cauliflower. Divine!

20140112-212141.jpg

Hazelnut honey mustard vinaigrette

Ingredients:
3 parts hazelnut oil
2 parts balsamic vinegar
1 part strong Dijon mustard
1 part honey
Salt and Pepper to taste

Dump all of your ingredients into a bowl and whish until combined. Even better, place ingredients in a jar with a lid and shake until combined. Store in the fridge for up to 2 weeks!

Leave a Reply

