Toasted coconut chocolate chip cookies

20131027-212357.jpg

Aah! These are my new favorite cookies! I love everything about them, from their crispy-chewy texture to their rich, caramel flavor. And that toasted coconut? Seriously to die for. You should never make a cookie without it! These are the kinds of flavors that get better and more intense as you chew. In the beginning, you’re thinking, “yeah, these are pretty good,” and by the last bite you’ll be begging for more. You obviously have to love coconut, but if you do, I think you’ll love these cookies too!

20131027-212410.jpg

20131027-212418.jpg

So, what happened was, I bought a huge bag of thick, beautiful, unsweetened coconut flakes that I opened a while back. I knew I should probably hurry up and finish the bag before it went bad (does coconut go bad?) and so I started the obsessive search for something coconut-centric that I could make with what I already had on hand. I wanted cake with lots of sweet buttercream (like these coconut milk cupcakes for example!) but I was out of powdered sugar. I also craved German chocolate cake but didn’t have any pecans or evaporated milk. And then I thought about toasted coconut and how amazing it is, and that I could probably just throw a bunch into a classic chocolate chip cookie recipe. And so I did. And it was amazing!

20131027-212427.jpg

20131027-212435.jpg

Toasted coconut chocolate chip cookies

Ingredients (makes about 24 cookies):
1 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons of butter
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups coconut flakes
1/2 cup chocolate chips

20131027-212445.jpg

This is really just a classic chocolate chip cookie with toasted coconut mixed in, super easy! Preheat your oven to 375°. Spread the coconut on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and place it in the oven, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes. Keep a close eye on it as it can easily burn!

While the coconut is toasting, place the butter in the bowl of your stand mixer with both sugars and cream it together. You’ll want to run the mixer on low to medium speed for about five minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl.

Add the egg and vanilla and stir to incorporate. Finally, add the flour, salt and baking soda and stir until the mixture just comes together. Toss in the coconut and chocolate chips.

The dough will be slightly sticky. I used two spoons to drop small balls of dough onto my baking sheet (lined with silpat), about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake for 8-10 minutes until the cookies are golden brown.

Leave a Reply

