Grilled lamb chops with mint walnut pesto

Oh how the last few weeks have flown by! I’m finally finding the time to get back in the kitchen after my whirlwind experience at the catering company, but having house guests means not necessarily taking the time to snap photos of what I made. We ate simple food, and I hope my words will whet your appetite just as much as a photo would have!

One of the last dishes I made, and one of my favorites, was these ultra-simple grilled lamb chops. I seasoned the chops generously with salt and pepper and a brush of olive oil. I picked about a cup of mint from our herb garden, threw it in the food processor with some walnuts and walnut oil and called it pesto. I brushed the lamb with pesto, grilled for a few minutes and served the remaining pesto as a table-side sauce. It was simple perfection. I can’t wait to make these again!

Grilled lamb chops with mint walnut pesto

Ingredients (makes enough sauce for about 8 chops):
1 C mint leaves
1/2 C walnut oil
1/4 C walnuts
1 clove of garlic
1 T red wine vinegar
Pinch of red pepper flakes
Salt and pepper

Lamb chops
Salt and pepper
Olive oil

So, I basically already gave you the recipe above, but for consistency’s sake… Season the lamb chops on both sides with salt and pepper. Preheat your grill. Brush the chops with olive oil and set aside on a plate.

Wash the mint and pat it dry. Add it to the bowl of your food processor with the walnuts, garlic and seasoning. Turn it on high and slowly add the vinegar and walnut oil. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.

Brush one side of the lamb chops generously with the pesto. Grill for about 2-3 minutes per side (for a medium chop) over high heat, serve immediately with the remaining pesto.

3 thoughts on “Grilled lamb chops with mint walnut pesto

  1. Pingback: Chicken coconut milk curry with turmeric cardamom rice | à l'américaine

Leave a Reply

