Grilled sirloin with minted chimichurri

20130617-125533.jpg

It’s been so long! My job at the catering company has been keeping me busy and wearing me out, so much so that I couldn’t find the time to write about this amazing chimichurri sauce last week. I think this is probably one of the only things, aside from my yogurt cake, that I’ve actually made at home since I started working. I’m so ready to get back in the kitchen, and am planning on making coconut milk and caramel ice cream this afternoon to celebrate the late arrival of summer. Yesterday was the last day of June, and as I sat down in my back yard to unwind in the sun, I dreamt of all the ice cream I was going to eat now that temperatures are finally feeling estival. You know what else is great for summer? A simply grilled steak and this amazing sauce.

20130617-125538.jpg

We always have herbs growing in our yard and I’m always looking for new ways to use them. I make a lot of pesto, but for a steak I felt like something simpler, and fresh. Enter this minty chimichurri sauce, packed full of cilantro and chervil and just a hint of mint to cool things down. I think this particular meal was probably the best I’ve had in months. I don’t get to eat a lot of steak because Jé doesn’t like red meat, but I decided to treat myself (and make two separate meals!) and I’m glad I did! The sauce comes together in your food processor or blender in like a minute and keeps well in the fridge. It’s perfect for spicing up a grilled cheese (with leftover steak, why not!) and would be amazing on grilled veggies or even over pasta. You can use whatever herbs you have lying around (some basil would be fabulous!) even though I highly recommend the combination of vibrant cilantro, just-anised chervil and cool mint. The addition of garlic and hot pepper flakes adds a punch and makes this my new favorite sauce.

20130617-151845.jpg

Grilled sirloin with minted chimichurri

Ingredients (makes enough sauce for about 4 steaks):
1 C cilantro
1 C chervil or parsley
1/2 C mint
2 cloves of garlic
1 T red wine vinegar
Salt and pepper
Red pepper flakes
1/2 C olive oil

Sirloin (or other) steak
Salt and pepper
Olive oil

20130617-151856.jpg

Place the herbs, garlic and seasoning (salt, pepper, red pepper flakes) in the bowl of your food processor. Mix well until a paste begins to form and herbs are finely chopped. Add the red wine vinegar and continue to mix on medium speed, adding the olive oil in a steady stream until all elements are incorporated into the sauce. It won’t be as thick or smooth as a pesto, but the herbs/garlic/seasoning should be well combined into the olive oil (like a vinaigrette). Set aside.

20130617-151906.jpg

Preheat your bbq and season your steak with a brushing of olive oil and salt and pepper on both sides. Grill until the steak is cooked to your liking, then let the meat rest for about five minutes before serving. Pour the sauce directly over the steak, or slice into 1/2 inch thick pieces and serve the sauce on top.

Leave a Reply

