Arugula and cashew nut pesto

20130313-142312.jpg

Who doesn’t love pesto? I tend to make a big batch at least once a year when I buy yet another basil plant and it starts dying yet again and I need to use up what’s left quickly. I love it on pizza, with pasta, in a potato salad… Recently I had the same sort of problem, but with arugula. I bought a big tub of it and opened it up, sprinkling a few sprigs in with my salad. The next day, nearly all of the arugula was starting to wilt and I knew we’d never be able to eat it all in time. So I made some pesto.

You’ve definitely got to love arugula to love this pesto. Its peppery, bitter taste isn’t for everyone. You will definitely get a nice, strong, concentrated flavor with every mouthful. But the cashews and cheese help to give the arugula balance, and this pesto was great with pasta and even better with potoatoes fried in duck fat. I recommend cooking the pesto slightly if you’re not completely head over heels for arugula, or, if your household is anything like mine, your significant other/children/family isn’t a fan.

20130311-204210.jpg

Arugula and cashew nut pesto

3 C slightly packed arugula
1/4 C cashews
1 large clove of garlic
1/3 C walnut oil
1/4 C cheese (I used a mixture of parmesan and mozzarella)

There’s nothing simpler than a pesto. Place the arugula, cashews, cheese and garlic in the bowl of a food processor. Pulse until very finely ground, adding the oil in a thin stream until you have a thick, consistent sauce. Serve immediately, or store in the fridge for about a week.

Leave a Reply

