Salmon tartar potato salad with dill and sriracha

20130203-132623.jpg

This recipe was inspired by my internship at the Ô Cameleon restaurant. One of the stars of their simple menu was the salmon tartar, a genius mix of fresh, diced salmon, shallots, olive oil, diced tomatoes, tabasco sauce, salt and lots of minced dill. It came together in no time and was served on a bed of seasoned salad. I think I must’ve plated at least 30 of these beauties in the week that I interned there. On my last day, a stroke of luck made me the proud owner of a tupperware full of it since the restaurant was closed the next day. Knowing that Jé isn’t a fan of anything raw, I knew I’d have to spruce it up a bit if I had any chance of him eating it. Thus this awesome potato salad was born.

20130203-132547.jpg

I could go on about potato salad forever. My favorite ever potato salad combines diced Granny Smith apples and lots of smoky paprika with a fairly classic recipe, and I make tons of it each summer. One of the best potato salads that I ever had came from a French woman that I nannied for and was made up of smoked salmon, potatoes, green apples and a simple sauce of mayonnaise and yogurt. My brain must’ve remembered this salad at the exact moment that I picked up the tupperware full of tartar, and I knew exactly what I wanted, some mixture of the two, with a little something extra that I found in the sriracha. I hope you’ll enjoy this one. It’s simple and unpretentious and perfect for summer, even though we’re not quite there yet.

20130203-132552.jpg

Salmon tartar potato salad with dill and sriracha

Ingredients (serves 4):
Tartar:
2 large salmon filets
1 small shallot, minced
1 large tomato, diced
1 T olive oil
1/2 t Tabasco
1 small bunch of dill, minced
Salt to taste

Potato salad:
8 potatoes
1/4 C mayonnaise
2 T milk
1 T paprika
1 t sriracha

Make the tartar the day before if possible so the salmon has plenty of time to absorb all of the flavors. Remove the skin from the filets and cut the salmon into even-sized cubes of about 1/2 inch. Place in a large bowl and toss with the shallot, tomato, oil, Tabasco and dill until evenly coated. Season with salt to taste and refrigerate.

For the potato salad, boil your potatoes and then cut them into large chunks. In a large bowl, mix together the mayonnaise, milk, paprika and sriracha sauce. Add the salmon tartar and stir until the potatoes are coated with sauce and the salmon is evenly distributed. I personally enjoy my potato salad luke warm, but you can refrigerate if you like.

20130203-132609.jpg

2 thoughts on “Salmon tartar potato salad with dill and sriracha

  1. i made this the other night and it was amazing! i think your dishes are great (i already have more that i wanna try) and you make cooking seem less daunting. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

