Creamy turnip, leek and sweet potato soup

This soup was awesome, and I honestly didn’t expect it to be. It was once of those cold winter days when I asked myself what I should make for lunch, and realized that I had some turnips, leeks and sweet potatoes that weren’t going to last much longer. Making soup was the easiest solution, and so I set myself to it. The result was something incredibly fragrant despite the lack of flavor boosts like bacon, herbs or even many spices. This soup is simple, but it doesn’t taste like it.

The recipe was so simple and basic that I didn’t even think to snap any pictures of the process. I guess I forgot to even take one of the finished product. I hadn’t planned on blogging about it, but something about this soup makes it worthy of your kitchen and your dinner table, and I hope you’ll try it.

Creamy turnip, leek and sweet potato soup

2-4 large sweet potatoes
1 large onion
3 leeks
6-8 turnips
2-3 cloves of garlic
Olive oil
2-3 C Bouillon or stock (chicken or vegetable)
1/2 C Milk
1/4 C Cream
1/2 T Nutmeg

Like any soup, begin with a large recipient (I used my dutch oven) and heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions first, letting them sweat without browning too much for about 3-5 minutes. Add the garlic and leeks next and continue cooking, stirring often, for about 10 minutes more. Add your veggies now along with the bouillon or stock and a little extra water if needed. Let the mixture simmer until all vegetables are fork tender, about 20 minutes longer. Purée the soup and add the nutmeg, milk and cream until you reach the desired consistency. Adjust seasoning with salt and pepper as desired. Reheat the soup if necessary before serving.

One thought on “Creamy turnip, leek and sweet potato soup

  1. Pingback: Creamy cauliflower, cumin and lardon soup | à l'américaine

Leave a Reply

