Pancetta-wrapped pork tenderloin with plum chutney

20120914-191944.jpg

This year I began a love affair… With plums. I guess I never really noticed them in the beginning. And then once I did, there were so many varieties that I didn’t know which to choose. I finally took the plunge a few weeks ago and discovered a mildly sweet, perfectly pint-sized fruit that I ate all during the season and transformed into things like my hazelnut plum cake and this amazing sweet and tangy chutney, paired with my all-time favorite cut of meat, pork tenderloin.

20120914-191933.jpg

These pictures don’t do the dish justice at all. If there’s one thing I’d like to improve, it’s my photography. I honestly cook to eat, and I don’t think much about this blog in the process. I can usually manage to snap an appetizing photo or two with my iphone before the meal is devoured, but sometimes they fall short. I hope that you’ll take me at my word instead of focusing on your eyes and give this one a try. It comes from Bon Appétit’s August issue, so you know it’s good!!

20120914-191951.jpg

Pancetta-wrapped pork tenderloin with plum chutney
Recipe from Bon Appétit, August 2012

Ingredients:
4 dark red plums
1 T olive oil
1 shallot
1/2 C brown sugar
1/4 C apple cider vinegar
1 T chopped garlic
1 T mustard seeds
2 t grated fresh ginger
1 bay leaf
Salt and pepper

2 pork tenderloins (about 2 lbs)
A few slices of pancetta
Fresh rosemary
4 t herbes de provence
4 t olive oil

For the chutney, begin by blanching and peeling your plums (cut an X at one end and place them in boiling water for 45-60 seconds, remove into an ice bath and peel). Heat the oil over medium heat and cook the shallot until it begins to soften. Add the brown sugar, vinegar, garlic, mustard seeds, ginger and bay leaf and 1/4 C water. Let the mixture cook for about two minutes before adding the plums. Cover and simmer the mixture, letting it reduce, for about 8 minutes before uncovering and simmering until it reaches a thick, chutney-like consistency, about 25 minutes more. Adjust seasoning and set aside.

Preheat your oven to 360°. For the pork, simply mix the olive oil, rosemary and herbes de provence in a large bowl. Add the pork and coat it well with the herb mixture. Place the pork in a large baking dish and cover with the pancetta, overlapping as best as you can and completely covering the pork. Add a few sliced onions if you like, and don’t forget to place about 1/2 C of water in your baking dish so your meat doesn’t dry out. Roast in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, depending on how you like your meat cooked (just pink is perfect!). Don’t hesitate to switch the broiler on near the end of your cooking time if the pancetta isn’t quite crispy enough. Serve with the chutney at room temperature.

20120919-102302.jpg

2 thoughts on “Pancetta-wrapped pork tenderloin with plum chutney

  1. Pingback: Coca cola-marinated pork tenderloin with braised red cabbage | à l'américaine

  2. Pingback: Grilled honey mustard tenderloin & a simple salad | à l'américaine

Leave a Reply

