Peanut butter, dark chocolate and walnut fudge

20120729-170014.jpg

I remember growing up and the anticipation of Grandma’s fudge on Christmas day. As with her famous turtles, fudge was a once-a-year kind of dessert, which lead me to believe that it was probably one of those super complicated recipes where I’d have to slave over the stove all day long with a candy thermometer trying my best not to burn everything. I couldn’t have been further from the truth.

20120729-170300.jpg

A can of sweetened condensed milk leftover from an iced coffee binge lead me to scour the internet for ways to use it up. I came across countless fudge recipes and was relieved to learn that fudge could be made in less than five minutes and required no baking, candy thermometers or other catastrophic elements. In fact, it could even be made in a microwave! I don’t even own one, so this is a stovetop version. But still, simple as pie (ha!) and so, incredibly rich and delicious. The French have officially been won over and refused to believe their eyes when I told gave them the recipe. I got that same dear-in-headlights meets lightbulb-going-off look that I probably had when I learned that Grandma spent just a few short minutes once a year making something so special and delicious.

20120729-170216.jpg

Peanut butter, dark chocolate and walnut fudge
Ingredients:
1 1/2 C of dark baking chocolate
1/2 C sweetened condensed milk
1/2 C peanut butter
1 T water
1/2 C walnuts

20120729-170041.jpg

In a small saucepan, combine chocolate, sweetened condensed milk and peanut butter and water and melt over low heat, stirring often. Once the mixture is smooth, stir in walnuts and pour it into a square baking dish (I like to line mine with wax paper so I can just pop out the whole batch of fudge and cut). Refrigerate for several hours, until firm enough to cut.

20120729-170059.jpg

20120729-170202.jpg

3 thoughts on “Peanut butter, dark chocolate and walnut fudge

Leave a Reply

