Steak, pesto and mozzarella grilled cheese

20120809-125255.jpg

Being someone who grew up hating steak but then one day when she was a teenager at a BBQ with friends and had the best sirloin of her life, marinated and expertly cooked and then realized that actually she LOVED steak, is difficult when your boyfriend supposedly hates red meat. I can always trick him into eating ground beef in hamburgers, spicy tomato sauce with baked eggs or meatloaf, and once or twice even managed to get him to eat some sirloin kebabs off of the grill. But as for my dream of a minimally seasoned and medium-cooked sirloin steak, I can pretty much forget it. Every once in awhile I’ll buy some anyway, knowing that I’ll have to freeze the leftover portions and see to it personally that they get eaten. I recently found myself with one last sirloin in the freezer and home alone, with one lone avocado and some mozzarella left over from pizza earlier in the week. And thus my new favorite sandwich was born.

20120809-125224.jpg

I seasoned the steak with lots of sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. I heated a mixture of salted butter and olive oil in a small frying pan over high heat and seared the crap out of that steak. I turned the heat down and let it cook just enough. Perfection.

20120809-125238.jpg

Then I picked as much basil as I possibly could from my quickly diminishing plant, blended it with some garlic, lemon juice and more olive oil and called it a quick pesto. Awesome.

20120809-125230.jpg

I mashed my avocado with a hint of lime juice and some sea salt and spread it onto one piece of crusty, brown bread. The other piece got all the pesto.

20120809-125243.jpg

Next up I sliced my steak into thin pieces and arranged them on top of the pesto. The avocado got some shredded mozarella. Everyone got a little more sea salt.

20120809-125301.jpg

Then came the really fun part: I heated up some more salted butter in a pan and fried that bread up perfectly golden brown. The cheese was just melted and the pesto and avocado warmed through. I threw that baby on a plate and dug in. I don’t think I’ve ever been happier to eat alone.

20120809-125307.jpg

Steak, pesto and mozzarella grilled cheese

Ingredients:
1 small sirloin steak
Sea salt and pepper to taste
1 t olive oil and 1 t salted butter to cook it in
1 ripe avocado
A dash of lime juice
1/2 C basil
1 clove of garlic
1 T lemon juice
2 T olive oil
Mozzarella cheese

20120809-125251.jpg

In a small pan, heat the butter and olive oil until very hot, then sear your sirloin that has been seasoned with sea salt and pepper. Turn down the heat and cook to your liking.

Blend the basil, lemon juice and garlic. Drizzle in the olive oil and spread on one slice of bread.

Mash the avocado with lime juice and sea salt, spread on the other piece of bread. Top with steak, cut into thin pieces, and mozzarella.

Heat another tablespoon of salted butter in a skillet over medium high heat and sear the sandwich on both sides until golden brown. Eat immediately.

2 thoughts on “Steak, pesto and mozzarella grilled cheese

Leave a Reply

