My favorite potato salad

20120527-165835.jpg

I love potato salad. I know that not everyone feels the same. The thing is, a good (or bad) potato salad can make (or break) a picnic or BBQ. And the only way to make sure that your side is fabulous and not boring or tasteless is to make it yourself!

I’ve experimented a lot with potato salad over the last few years, and much more so since I moved to France and couldn’t just go out and buy it at the supermarket. I remember in the beginning, I tried to recreate many American classes for Jé, because I wanted him to know the foods I grew up eating, but mostly because I missed them. It was a hard adjustment to make at first, but I’ve learned to live without most of the American things that I can’t find here. Some recipes, and some dishes, however, have stayed with me. Potato salad is one of those dishes, and I think I’ve pretty much perfected it.

20120527-165841.jpg

This salad is slightly spicy and incredibly fresh, not too heavy nor too mayonnaise-laden. The sauce is creamy and yet light, and the addition of shallots and green apples adds a much welcome crunch. This salad can stand alone, but is obviously best served along with freshly grilled brats, hamburgers or grilled chicken.

My favorite potato salad

Ingredients:
6-8 large potatoes
1 granny smith apple
2 hard boiled eggs
1 small shallot, finely diced
A small handful of cornichons, diced
1/2 C plain greek yogurt
1/4 C mayonnaise
3 T red wine vinegar
2 T Dijon mustard
1/3 C milk (more or less, depending on how thick you like your sauce)
2 T paprika
A handful of fresh cilantro, torn into small pieces

Peel your potatoes and cook them in a steamer or in boiling water. Prepare the sauce while they’re cooking. Whisk together the yogurt, mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar and milk. Season with salt and pepper, and add the paprika.

Peel and chop your apple into small pieces, and add to the sauce. Chop your eggs and add them as well, along with the shallots and cornichons. Once the potatoes are fully cooked, drain them and roughly chop them, adding them to the mix. Stir well to coat all elements of the salad. Taste and adjust seasoning (you’ll probably want to add quite a bit more salt now to season the potatoes). Add more milk if the sauce is too thick. Finish with the fresh cilantro. Can be eaten lukewarm or cold, straight from the fridge.

One thought on “My favorite potato salad

  1. Pingback: Salmon tartar potato salad with dill and sriracha | à l'américaine

Leave a Reply

