Raspberry and white chocolate bars with vanilla bean

20120422-141956.jpg

Who knew that raspberries and white chocolate went so well together? Probably many, many people knew this, but I didn’t not. I’m not usually a fan of fruit in desserts. I’m more of a chocolate, caramel, peanut butter kind of gal. I’m not bit on pies, tarts, what have you. I came across this recipe one day and decided to give it a try, as I’ve been trying to up my fruit intake lately. I’m glad I gave it a chance, because it was a nice, light, fruity alternative to the desserts that I usually make.

20120421-143849.jpg

20120421-143910.jpg

The texture was somewhere in between a blondie and a flan, almost custard like, spongy but rich in flavor and with a slight crust on top. The chunks of white chocolate were heaven and brought a touch of gourmandise to the recipe and, as mentioned above, went perfectly with the tart raspberries that, when cooked, literally melted in my mouth and oozed out of the sides with every bite.

20120421-143855.jpg

20120421-143916.jpg

They were quick to make and pretty, too! I will definitely make these again, hopefully later this summer when my back yard is overflowing with fresh, juicy raspberries (cross your fingers for me!). Cherries would also sub in well, as the texture slightly resembles the famous French cherry clafoutis (which I will also be making in the coming weeks when my back yard is overflowing with dark, ripe, fragrant cherries!).

20120421-143900.jpg

Raspberry and white chocolate bars with vanilla bean

Ingredients:
2/3 C butter
3 eggs
1/2 C sugar
1 1/2 C + 1 T flour
1/4 t salt
1 vanilla bean, split and seeds removed
1 bar of quality milk chocolate, roughly chopped
1 C (more or less) fresh raspberries

20120421-143921.jpg

Heat your oven to 350°. Lightly oil an 8X8 inch square baking pan. Melt the butter in a small pan over low heat. Once melted, remove from heat and add half of the white chocolate. Stir gently until the chocolate is melted and you have an even mixture.

In a large bowl, mix the eggs and sugar together until light yellow and creamy. Add the flour, salt, vanilla and cooled butter/chocolate mixture and stir until just combined. Gently stir in the remaining white chocolate and pour into your baking dish. Arrange the raspberries however you want, taking care to push them into your bars until they are about even with the surface. Bake for 20-25 minutes until the top is lightly browned and a knife comes out clean. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

