Oatmeal, brown butter chocolate chip cookies

I have a soft spot in my heart for chocolate chip cookies. I think most Americans do. They remind me of my childhood, of eating the dough even though my Mom told me the raw eggs weren’t good for my stomach, painstaking minutes of anticipation as I waited for them to come out of the oven and burnt tongues as I devoured them a little too soon. I used to have trouble making cookies. I just couldn’t get the texture right. They were always slightly cakey, and I prefer a chewy, succulent, moist, brownie-like cookie. I had a cookie epiphany when I discovered brown butter. I first used it in this recipe, one of my all-time favorites combining nutty butter, salt and chocolate. There’s nothing better.

20120325-193119.jpg

I had a craving for oatmeal, otherwise I just would’ve made those same cookies again. I guess I wanted to make sure that my ultimate cookie recipe really was the ultimate. I had to play the field, and I decided on these oatmeal, brown butter and chocolate chip cookies needed their chance to shine.

20120325-193249.jpg

They were definitely good. Really good actually. The oatmeal and dark chocolate were nice alternatives to the smoother feeling of my favorites, made with milk chocolate that combines with sea salt for a perfect sweet and salty balance. The secret weapon ingredient? Cinnamon. You know how much I love cinnamon. I think I still have a pretty strong preference for my ultimate cookies, but that shouldn’t stop you from trying these if you enjoy a rich, buttery and flavorful cookie.

20120325-193141.jpg

Oatmeal, brown butter and chocolate chip cookies
Original recipe from How sweet it is
Ingredients:

1/2 C butter
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C brown sugar
1 egg
2 T vanilla extract
1 1/4 C flour
3/4 C oats
1/4 t salt
1/2 t baking powder
2 t cinnamon
1 bar of high-quality dark chocolate, broken into small pieces

Brown butter makes cookies so much easier because there’s no need to cream, a task that can be daunting if you don’t have a stand mixer. Start by preheating your oven to 375°. Heat your butter over medium-low heat until it starts to brown ever so slightly: remove it immediately when this happens! Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, mix your dry ingredients together, including the oats and chocolate chips.  Once the butter has cooled, add it to a separate bowl and combine with the sugars, egg and vanilla extract. Now add the wet ingredients to the dry ones and mix until just combined. Proceed as usual, forming the dough into small balls and placing them on a greased cookie sheet or on wax paper or foil. Bake for about 10 minutes, and you’re done!

Leave a Reply

