Quick chicken satay

I have a soft spot for oriental food. The coconut milk, the cilantro, the lime… I came home from work one evening with an intense craving for chicken korma, but found myself without any coconut milk. I started cooking my chicken with onions anyway and added a bit of shredded coconut. I knew that the dish would disappoint me, because it wasn’t exactly what I wanted. So I decided to change things up. I spotted an unopened jar of peanut butter in my pantry and knew instantly that the only thing that would kick my craving for korma was satay.

20120417-203505.jpg

Satay is chicken kebabs marinated in a spicy sauce laced with peanut butter, garlic, spices and lime juice. It usually involves coconut milk, but something told me that it would be easier to skimp on this ingredient for the satay than for my go-to Indian dish. I was right. Turns out, marinating is not even necessary as long as you make plenty of thick, rich, flavorful sauce to go along with your chicken. It was super good, fast and incredibly easy. Here’s what I did:

Quick chicken satay

Ingredients:

Two large chicken breasts, cut into small pieces
1 T olive oil
1 medium-sized onion, roughly chopped
1/4 C shredded coconut
2 T curry powder
1/2 t pepper
1 t sea salt
Juice of 1 lime
1 T soy sauce
1/4 C peanut butter
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 C milk (or maybe more; basically just used to get the sauce to the consistency that you like)

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add your pieces of chicken and season with salt and pepper. Let them brown for 2-3 minutes before turning the heat down slightly and adding the coconut. Brown for another 2-3 minutes, then add your onions and garlic. Cook this mixture over medium heat, stirring often so the coconut doesn’t stick, about five minutes more. Add the curry powder and incorporate before adding the lime juice. Turn your heat down to medium-low and let the lime juice cook down slightly. Once there is very little liquid left, add the soy sauce and peanut butter. Mix well and add the milk little by little, incorporating after each addition, until the sauce reaches the consistency that you like, a little thick, but not too much.

That’s it! Eat this with cardamom-flavored rice or naan flatbread and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Quick chicken satay

  1. Pingback: Peanut butter cookies with chocolate chunks | à l'américaine

  2. Pingback: Asian-style noodles with chicken, peanuts and cilantro | à l'américaine

  3. Pingback: Rice noodle bowls with cashew ginger sauce and poached chicken | à l'américaine

Leave a Reply

