Peanut butter and oatmeal sandwich cookies

20120304-141330.jpg

I was home sick a couple of weeks ago and in need of comfort food. I stumbled upon this recipe on Twitter (via Two Peas and Their Pod) and felt feelings of overwhelming joy when I realized I had everything I needed to make it in my kitchen. Literally five minutes after reading through it I was ready to bake, my apron tied on and my taste buds eagerly awaiting the end result.

This was my first time making sandwich cookies, which are a fabulous two-for-one invention that involves various frostings and fillings. Why hadn’t I tested them in my own kitchen yet? I don’t know how I held out so long, but let me tell you that I see a lot of other varieties in my future, starting with the Faux Martha’s salted dark chocolate nutella version. Yum.

20120304-141310.jpg

So, back to the cookies at hand. These were rich but oddly enough not too overwhelmingly peanut butter despite the cookies and the frosting being laced with it. They nostalgically reminded me of both oatmeal cream pies and nutter butters, and I think we’ll all agree that you can’t go wrong there. The cookies were just soft enough without being down-right chewy and were balanced perfectly with a healthy dollup of frosting holding them together. A fun variation might be a chocolate ganache or, why not, nutella filling. Grab a glass of milk and get baking!

20120304-141300.jpg

20120304-141318.jpg

Peanut butter and oatmeal sandwich cookies
From Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

3/4 C flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/2 C butter at room temperature
1/2 C peanut butter
1/2 C sugar
1/2 C packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 t vanilla extract
1 C oats
3 T butter at room temperature
1/2 C peanut butter
1 C powdered sugar

You should preheat your oven to 350° and get started by making the cookies. Whisk the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, thoroughly cream together the peanut butter, 1/2 C butter, sugar and brown sugar. Once the mixture is well blended, add in the egg and vanilla. Stir to incorporate, then add the dry ingredients little by little until you have dough!

Roll the dough into small balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for about 10 minutes, removing immediately to stop them from overcooking.

While the first batch is in the oven, make your peanut butter frosting. Simply cream together the butter and peanut butter, then slowly add in the powdered sugar, whipping vigorously so you get a light, fluffy frosting.

Once your cookies have cooled, plop a generous spoonful of frosting in the middle of the bottom of one cookie and place the second cookie on top, pressing down gently so that the frosting will flow all the way to the edges, while making your sandwich cookie. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Peanut butter and oatmeal sandwich cookies

  1. Pingback: Asian-style noodles with chicken, peanuts and cilantro | à l'américaine

Leave a Reply

