A little bit of Christmas

It’s that time of year again, and I’m finally feeling in the spirit of Christmas. I don’t know if it’s because each and every morning, when I come to work at 8:30 a.m., it’s still just dark enough for the lights of the Printemps to still be twinkling, or if every evening at 5:15 p.m. when I walk back towards the St. Lazare station it’s just dark enough that those same lights are back on, and the window displays filled with dancing marionettes are in full swing, tourists and locals alike caught before them, not able to look away. Maybe it’s the Christmas fikus that we put up in my office last week when I stumbled upon a padded envelope full of glittery Christmas decorations that my Mom sent me last year, and that arrived two full weeks after the holidays were over. Or perhaps it has something to do with the freshly made, all-natural holiday wreath I purchased yesterday afternoon at the Agnes flower shop on the rue Montorgueil. It’s beginning to feel a lot like Christmas, and although we may not have a fancy party planned, I’m beginning to get really excited to celebrate the holidays with my better half.

Merry Christmas, everyone. I hope you’re finding small ways to relish in this special time of year, encouraging the build-up, decorating trees, getting a head start on Christmas shopping, mentally planning your menu for the big day, continuing to be thankful, thinking of the ones you love.

I really do love this time of year…

3 thoughts on “A little bit of Christmas

  1. Love your french christmas photos, your wreath is so pretty. Tell us about french xmas food next time!

Leave a Reply

