Diet highlights

Phew. I’ve been trying to take photos of what I’ve been making, because I’m pretty proud of how I’m handling the diet. Last time, I got bored pretty quickly. This time, I find myself thinking, “If this is all it takes to lose weight, I’ll never be fat again!” The little things like replacing crème fraîche with its reduced fat version seem to be making a huge difference for my metabolism, and a very, very slight one for my taste buds.

It’s been just over four weeks, and I’m nearly five kilos down. It’s going great, and I’m really excited to keep it going, and to get back to where I was a year ago. And maybe even go further! So, here’s what I’ve been up to…

This tandoori chicken was amazingly good. I used my new mortar and pestle that I bought in Skopje to crush up three cloves of garlic and a handful of cardamom seeds. I added in a good helping of cayenne pepper, sea salt, tandoori spices, paprika, lemon juice, cumin and who knows what else… Then mixed my spice mix into some fromage blanc nature (0% fat, of course!) and let my chicken marinate for about 30 minutes before throwing it on the grill. The kebabs were served with fresh onion slices, lemon and a delicious sauce made from fromage blanc, oven roasted garlic, loads of fresh mint and black pepper, and a little lemon juice (this sauce was leftover from my beetroot fries earlier in the week, which were amazing!). It was divine!

This is one of my favorite go-to meals because A) it’s so delicious and B) there are always leftovers. Start with trimming as much fat as possible from your filet mignon (or pork tenderloin, if you will) and cutting it into 1 inch thick rounds. While you’re preparing the meat, add some bacon and an onion or two to your skillet (on high heat). Once the bacon starts to get crispy, add your filet mignon and let it brown on all sides before turning the heat down, and adding in a bit of garlic (make sure to add pepper, but not too much salt as the bacon already adds some). Add some broth, water or white wine (if you’re not on a diet!) and let simmer for as long as possible, at least 30 minutes. Keep adding liquid until your meat is as tender as you like it, but make sure that most of the liquid has evaporated by the end of the cooking time. This is when you add one good-sized spoon full of crème fraîche, stir, and enjoy!

With the Dukan diet, I can’t eat potatoes. It’s sad, but I’ve learned that things like broccoli and carrots make for great substitutes in the purée department. What I hadn’t thought of was cauliflower. It’s the closest thing to real mashed potatoes that I’ve found, even the texture is almost right! Boil the cauliflower, mix with pan-roasted garlic (leave the skins on and brown over high heat for about 10 minutes, then discard the skins and you’re good to go!), a bit of milk, some fat-free soft cheese (carré frais, philadelphia, st. moret…), lots of pepper and sea salt and voilà!

I never thought a diet could be so easy (other than the not drinking alcohol part, but it hasn’t been too hard yet!). But I guess when you’re eating things like this, how could it be?

Leave a Reply

